LATEST: Celebrating 200 years of Hill & Smith   Read more

2022 GAGA winners announced

The annual Galvanizer’s Association Galvanizing Awards (affectionately known as the GAGAs) took place last Friday, 1 July. It was a great afternooon!

The GAGAs celebrate the use of galvanizing in architecture and art.

The winners of the 2022 Annual GAGAs – who all received a highly coveted GA oil can – are as follows:

Architecture Award

The Architecture Award celebrates the most innovative and effective use of galvanized steelwork in architectural projects. This year’s Architecture Award went to two joint winners:

The C1 Design District, London, by Architecture 00, and Surrey Docks Farm by PUP Architects.

Sustainable Award

The Sustainable Award celebrates projects where galvanized steel is used mainly for its ecological benefits, which are clearly reflected within the project’s description and the philosophy behind it.

Flimwell Park in East Sussex by Architecture Ensemble won this year’s Sustainable Award.

Engineering Award

The Engineering Award celebrates the most innovative and effective use of galvanized steelwork, but with special attention paid to structural functionality and industrial use of galvanized steel.

The Swing Bridge by Tonkin Liu is this year’s Engineering Award winner.

Duplex Award

The Duplex Award takes into consideration projects that use galvanized steel coated with any of the organic coatings i.e. wet paints, powder coating etc. As with the architecture and engineering awards, it includes all sizes of project and the functionality as well as the aesthetics of the structure will be of interest. 

This year’s Duplex Award was won by GK Engineering for Goodluck Hope Building.

Detail Award

The Detail Award is granted to projects that display interesting and innovative uses of galvanized steel in elements that are not the main part of a structure. But form a detail, which supports the overall functionality and aesthetics of the architectural or engineering project.

This year’s winner of the Detail Award is Thomas Randall-Page for Art Barn.

The Highly Commended Detail Award went to Nick Hill Architects for Notting Hill Garden House.

Art Award

The Art Award is awarded to the most compelling use of galvanized steelwork in contemporary art and the built environment.

This year’s winner of the Art Award is Katie Ventress Artist Blacksmith for The Boulby Miner.

Special Mention

Finally, this year’s Special Mention in Architecture Award went to Nissen Richards Studio for Sutton Hoo.

The judging panel for the 2022 GAGAs consisted of Matthew Wells (Techniker), Isabelle Priest (RIBA Journal), Jack Broad (Carmody Groarke), and Iqbal Johal (Galvanizers Association).

Congratulations to all the 2022 winners, and shortlisted entries!

Next page